Light Painting, Attempt One


So, I’ve decided to light paint, but before I can successfully combine knowledge from my Data Visualization Class and 3D Light Sculpturing I want to play a bit with the technique and learn a bit of the theory. Photography is the perfect medium to pick up subtle light patterns because its main element are photons hitting the light-sensitive plate. You never know exactly what you will get with light painting because it images not made at once but instead are a compression of light’s path over time. This is key when you want to capture one moving element in a static scene. From this you can discover pattern, shapes, and symbols. The space around the moving object takes on a different meaning. It is no longer a familiar place but part of the living element’s narrative. I’ve done my first attempt at artistic light painting by showing the life around my bed.

