Ethics of Testing on Human Subjects


I did not foresee where this project would take me and it looks as if I have ventured into a legal arena. Since my project has involved taking feedback from my peers I will have to complete an application to review that my purpose and methods are ethically sound. Ryerson has it’s own policy, Ryerson Policy on Research Involving Human Subjects, that outlines the responsibilities one must have when designing the research method. The online application, Ryerson Ethics Guidelines (Human Research) , is a comprehensive outline of the details I will have to fill out. I am both surprised that I have to go through with this and also comforted that researchers have to do this. I feel as though it saves me from misrepresentation and that the researchers are considerate of us. In addition, I see it as a westernized ceremony of asking for the responsibility to speak for others.

