Finds from Queen Street West


I went for a stroll along Queen Street West, starting at Ossington Street. I was looking for ideas. There is a wood, industrial theme going on. I really dig it. Here is what I found:

Caitlyn Purcell. Featured at Katharine Mulhern Contemporary Art Projects.

Purcell made a dainty ring from what looked like scrap silver. It was very playful. She also had a hammered finish ring on her website that I like.

Hammer finish ring. Caitlyn Purcell.

Krisjanis Kaktins-Gorsline was also featured at Mulherin’s Store. What caught me attention was how he reveals layers. In one of his sketches he made the initial sketch. From the outlines he put tape on the page then painted on top. When he took the tape off it revealed the piece underneath. It made a powerful message about deeper meaning or shields. I think I will use this visual metaphor.

Krisjanis Kaktins-Gorsline

At Made you look, jeweler Alastair Crombie use leather thong material in a necklace.

Leather Thong Jewelry

Article 27 is a product store with a Japanese sterile style [sic]. It’s as if a plants were put in prescription packaging. Contemporary bottled magic. You can’t tell from the website. The architect put vanity lights under the products that gave it a godly effect.

Product display at Article 27 on Queen Street West

Here’s a picture of Anne Hathaway as the White Queen in Alice in Wonderland. This store has the same white/pure theme. Not Japanese but the same sort of magic.

Anne Hathaway as the White Queen in Alice in Wonderland.

I also talked a while with the owner of Symbolis about running a store and checked out lighting at Industrial Storm.

