Thesis Concept Progress


Prescription Bottles filled with traditional herbal medicines (Tobacco and Sage)

I conducted an interview with the manager of Anishnawbe Health in Toronto. I wanted to know about running a culturally sensitive health practice. How to balance spiritual and physical care. As a symbol of the merging between the cultures, I came up with ‘the medicine bottle.’ Instead of putting prescription pills in a typical prescription bottle I put traditional medicine such as sage, sweet grass and nicotine. Then I labelled them with prescription style letter. But the message couldn’t have been further from what you would expect. The instructions included ‘burn and spread smoke over hair and body’ or ‘burn and say a prayer’ or ‘bury under the leaves of a sacred tree.’ The result challenges our preconceptions. It also adds a friendly touch to a sterile environment.

