Personalized Christmas Gifts


I was determined to make my gifts this year instead of buying them. I tried to make them as personal as possible. Many of the gift reflect personal and professional interests. My soon-to-be university student step-sister received stylized binder dividers (I know from personal experience they are a nice touch). My nephew got a tie with the Titanic imprinted on it. My stepmother got portraits of her dogs on human bodies. My grandfather got a flute song. Gifts that relate to professional interests include my nephew, who wants to be a doctor got a tie with a stethoscope imprinted on it. I also challenged myself to make a jewelry box for my sweet niece. It was worth the hours of planning, preparing and painting. While I’m no stranger to buying gifts, it feels to superficial for this holiday. I gift once or twice a year and I really want it to mean something. In native American culture,  usually the most prized possession is gifted, such as a carefully carved pipe or a hand-made hand drum. Making the gifts is a ritual of investing positive thoughts into the object until it turns into an extension of yourself, the best of you. That way you can give the ones you love the best part of yourself, the selfless part. I am sure that my family appreciates the time and effort I put into the gifts and will be reminded of me when they look or use the objects in years to come. That is the real objective behind the gift-giving process!

