Drum-making workshop


Flyer for Drum-making workshop and Potluck

Flyer for Drum-making workshop and Potluck

In Anishnawbe folklore,  beats on a drum represented mother’s heartbeat and this semester, I made my very own heart. Using white deer skin provided by Steeve Teeken we fastened the hide to a white pine wood circular frame. The skin was slippery and meaty in my hands. The threading and fastening was therapeutic. I used this drum in my project; hooking it up to a Piezo vibration sensor. My own criticism is that the skin is high maintenance. It needs to be a certain temperature and moistness or else it will sound flat. I ‘drink’ regularly. Following tradition, that first drum is gifted. I have someone in mind so I had to find another drum to use in my project. For my second, which I bought from Mr. Teeken, I choose Moose Hide. It is more versatile. He uses it in Sweat Lodges, so it can stand high temperatures. The sound booms where the first drum sounds flat. The tan is darker, moodier. I like it better. Attached the drum I made a Medicine Wheel from ribbon and wax thread bracelet to attach to the stick. The whole process has been very educational and contributes to my growing Aboriginal cultural competency.

